Board of Management

Hughie Donaldson – Chairperson
Hughie has enjoyed a varied career, working in the merchant navy, shipbuilding, mining, engineering, fishing and crofting before being appointed in 1999 as the Co-ordinator of Initiative at the Edge, a Scottish Government programme for remote rural areas. Since 2005 Hughie has been employed by Highlands & Islands Enterprise as is now Development Manager in its Community Assets Sector. He holds a Post Graduate Diploma in Social Science Housing Studies and is a Corporate Member of the Chartered Institute of Housing (CMCIH). Hughie joined LHA’s Board in 2003, was elected its Treasurer in 2007 and was our Vice-Chair from 2102 to 2015, when he was elected as Chairperson.

Andrew Carr – Vice-Chairperson
Andrew graduated in 2002 from Edinburgh University with a degree in Scots Law (LLB) and has worked in finance for the Crannog Group of companies since 2004. Andrew is also Chairperson of Highland Communities Credit Union, Treasurer of the Friends of the Macintosh Centre (Mallaig) and held the Treasurer’s position with Mallaig Community Council from 2008 to 2011. In 2016 he was appointed as company secretary at the Morar Community Trust. Andrew joined LHA’s Board in 2013 and was elected as our Vice-Chairperson in 2015.

Alex Farquhar- Secretary
Alex has been a Manager in the Building Supply Industry since 1990. He is a graduate in Earth and Environmental Science from Stirling University. He has also served on Fort William’s Community Council and is Chair of the Nevis Partnership. Alex came on to LHA’s Board in 2009 and was our Treasurer and Audit Sub-Committee Chair from 2012 to 2016.

Stuart Reid – Treasurer
Stuart is a Renewable Energy Manager

Committee Members 
Di Alexander – Di began his career in housing in 1984 with Shelter Scotland and went on to work with the Rural Forum, Cairngorm National Park Authority and as a rural housing consultant before ending his professional career with the Highland Small Communities Housing Trust as its Executive Director. Di was a founder member of Lochaber Housing Association, having been on its Board since our inception in 1988, serving for many of these years as Secretary, before his service as Chair from 2010 to 2015. Di has served as Chair of the Rural and Island Housing Association Forum (RIHAF) on two separate occasions. He is also an elected member of the Board of the Scottish Federation of Housing Associations (SFHA) and was also recently appointed as Chair of the Scottish Government’s Rural Fuel Poverty Task Force.

Jenni Hodgson  – Retired Local Government Officer (Social Work Team Leader)

Catriona Hunter – Retired Lecturer

Linda Johnson

Lyn Kilpatrick – Lyn is a retired housing professional with experience in Housing Associations and Local Authorities in housing management and policy development roles. Lyn has a post-graduate diploma in Housing Studies and is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Housing. She has also worked in the voluntary sector in a rural service development role.

May Tosh

Jacqui Wight – Solicitor

Co-opted Board Members
Cllr Denis Rixson – Councillor and Retired Teacher


Board of Management log in